Ask an Ubisoft dev anything

Hey guys, I'm a Junior Programmer for Ubisoft Reflections, a studio in England. I'm working on the driving engine/vehicle physics for Watch Dogs 2.

Ask me whatever you want about working for ubi, my treatment as an employee or WD2 itself. (Obviously I'm best equipped to answer questions about the driving. I'm not directly involved in any story shit, but we've been drip-fed enough shit from our senior that I can probably give a pretty good idea.)

Bear in mind we're all under NDA, so I can't reveal too much personal info that would point to myself specifically.

N.B. I wasn't involved in WD1, so I can't really say anything about that.

Other urls found in this thread:

youtu.be/jeiBXbl9FVA?t=998
youtube.com/watch?v=jeiBXbl9FVA&feature=youtu.be&t=16m30s
twitter.com/SFWRedditVideos

Why do you guys suck so much?

What's your salary ? Or how much money per hour you make?

Lots of reasons, honestly. I think the main ones are that higher-ups care more about profits than quality, and employees have had any real passion for their work squeezed out of them.

Is WD2 coming out for the NX?
And do you have any info on the NX?

We're not all on same salaries (based largely on position- which is in turn based on how long you've worked there) so I can't say exactly, as that would be linked to me. I can say it's enough to get by as the sole worker in my family, but it really wasn't worth getting a degree.

So did you ever look at the game's aesthetic and plot and think 'Who the fuck thought this was cool'?

Why'd you get a job there and not at a studio that isn't full of depressed wagecucks?

Funnily enough, one of the girls (who does admin work, not actual game development) asked this a couple of weeks ago. Something about wanting it for her son. It was a pretty flat "no, it's not worth it".
Sorry to dissapoint.

Is porting from the Xbox One to the PS4 or vice versa difficult?