Amateur Game Dev thread?

Amateur Game Dev thread?

I have a question: I'm a pretty competent programmer and want to develop the core combat system for my game.

Should I just code it in whatever language I'm comfortable with and then port it to some actual GM software whenever I complete it? Or do I need to start out with some studio software and get comfortable with it first?

If you actually were a """"competent programmer"""" you wouldn't have to ask this question, even less so on a fucking video games forum full of underachieving children with ADD.

Go back to the /vg/ general

This.

I looked under AGD but didn't find any threads, otherwise I would have posted there instead

How should I prove that I'm competent? My background is more of theoretical CS/Math but it takes fuck all knowledge to make a working combat system

>I'M A NODEV SO EVERYONE IS A NODEV
die in a fire

sorry, I'm an idiot

>How should I prove that I'm competent?
By going 10 minutes back in time and not making this thread.

thanks user

Either use C# or c++ for unity and in real respectively depending on your game. If it's 2d use gamemaker. Otherwise you're wasting your time

>in real
did you mean unreal?

Wait, what the fuck have you done? You haven't written a module in any language yet, and you want to know how you should build your entire game too? Wait for a proper game dev thread here, simplify and explain your shit, otherwise the boilerplate recommendations are:
>Cheap or prototyping 2D: GameMaker
>Middle: Java or Python, google it
>Proper 2D: Godot, SFML/SDL + C++14
>Simple yet inefficient 3D: Unity with C#
>Proper 3D: Unreal Engine with C++

>making games in java
Enjoy your memory hog

I've written baby modules in Java and Python years ago but most of the work I've done recently hasn't been game-related and is in C

>I'm a pretty competent programmer
>asking Cred Forums for advice
heh heh