What sort of jobs do you degree-less people actually have?

What sort of jobs do you degree-less people actually have?

I have a BSc in CS from a top tier university and at every place I've worked at I am the least qualified person around. Just about every other software developers is an engineer or otherwise MSc.

Note: not talking about code monkey jobs (where your title is "programmer" and you make apps or stupid shit) but being hired as a software engineer

Other urls found in this thread:

gputechconf.com/
twitter.com/NSFWRedditImage

>he thinks there's a difference between software "engineering" and being a code monkey

Software "engineer" with a MSc in CS and 5 years experience here. You're wrong. All software development is basically code monkey work, you're just doing it at different levels.

If you've never seen the difference your post is either bullshit, or you had the same garbage job for 5 years.

Time to upgrade.

Been working on an ERP system, now mostly doing maintenance for an ancient CMS.
At the same time trying to get out of webdev and transition into embedded or systems.

>not talking about code monkey jobs
>software engineer

>If you've never seen the difference your post is either bullshit, or you had the same garbage job for 5 years.
I've had 3 different jobs, the current one is as an embedded developer and it is definitively the worst of the lot.

Programming for a living is menial. You think you're some kind of hot shot because you you don't know any better.

Actually, I've had 5 different programming jobs if you count part-time jobs and internship too.

Why must your life be your work, and little else?

>work average for 6 hours per day
>no wear on body
>already earn more than people outside the tech industry who are close to retirement

Not the person you asked, but: