Gotta do a web design module at college and my homework is to choose a text editor...

Gotta do a web design module at college and my homework is to choose a text editor. I have no HTML experience or programming experience really. What do I pick? I like the idea of using VIM but I feel like the steep learning curve might gimp me and I really need these credits. I'll also be learning C# on my course btw.

Which text editor do I pick?

Other urls found in this thread:

brackets.io/
twitter.com/NSFWRedditGif

>my homework is to choose a text editor.

pgb (((pretty good b8)))

visual studio code

glad i could help you sir.

Just get fucking notepad++

vim

Notepad++ is perfect for html and css, literally all you need

This. It's HTML, CSS and a little Javascript at most. You'll be fine with notepad++ and I guarantee you that's what the majority of your class will pick.

Sounds like a simple course so Notepad++ should do fine.

Don't waste your time trying to learn VIM for fucking web design.

notepad++ is just fine. VIM would be a overkill

Go with something modern like Atom or Sublime Text.

vim

use vim-tutor

OP do not I repeat DO NOT use VS Code. It's made by MS and they literally pay people to shill it on tech forums like this one.

Brackets, Atom, Sublime, are all better alternatives plus when you use them you aren't helping MS.

MS is one of the worst companies in the world. Stay as far away from their products as you can.

Vim is fine for web design.

>windows
notepad++
>linux
i actually like gedit (gtk2) for basic html work. there's bluefish too
>mac
bbedit, textwrangler, or you could try upgrading to windows or linux

i use vim myself but that's because i've used vim for years

Microsoft Word

brackets.io/

"i" to go to insert mode and write your code
"escape" to go to command mode
:w to save
:q to quit

that's it you're good to go

>upgrading to windows

>A modern, open source text editor that understands web design
>Made with (love) and JavaScript