Untrained guitar

What are some artists and musicians that despite having zero classical training (or any training whatsoever) on guitar came up with their own ways and got through eventually playing in abstract / experimental / unorthodox ways.

pic related ofc

Other urls found in this thread:

youtube.com/watch?v=sWwrztPU6Ck
twitter.com/NSFWRedditGif

Geordie Walker

Me.

Sonic Youth
Derek Bailey

Seconding this, i'm talented in the ugly guitar sounds

Pretty much every relevant guitarist lol people who are classically trained tend to be afraid of radical musical ideas. At least from experience I know that self taught guitarists tend to be way more fun to jam with as long as they know their scales and chords and basic theory and they are more open minded as a general rule

>their scales and chords and basic theory and they are more open minded as a general rule
Read the OP, i'm looking mainly for guitarrists that refuse proper theory and play guitar in out-of-the-norm ways but without being trained at all (like Blixa, who basically just picked a guitar up and went from there; no chords, no scales, no nothing).
>classically trained tend to be afraid
Not really, the best guitarrist I know irl is classically trained and digs a lot of experimental music so he actually tries different things all the time

Sonic Youth were trained as far as Thurston and Lee goes, weren't they?
Same with Bailey

Tommy Emmanuel

keiji haino

omar rodriguez lopez

You know, I can take quite a big chunk of avantgarde/experimental/whatever-you-can-think-of stuff on me and I'm able to listen to it with a straight face for at least two hours, forcing myself to like it -- it's something I somehow like doing as a challenge. I see music as a challenge, sort of. If you will...