I'm a fulltime audio engineer/freelancer, and I'm offering advice to any questions you might have...

I'm a fulltime audio engineer/freelancer, and I'm offering advice to any questions you might have. I work mostly with major and indie labels, but sometimes work on fully independent projects. I don't want to listen to mixes or share the artists I've worked with. Cheers!

How do you go about learning all this garbage? Serious question, btw. I've always been interested but never knew where to start.

start off easy, what are some of your favourite plugins?

Worth it getting a reel-to-reel thing for a few tenners?

Probably by recording or producing your own music. It's a learn-by-doing type of field. What kind of music are you interested in making?

I'm terrible at mixing. Halfway through making a track, I usually hate how weak it sounds and end up putting multi band compression and a little EQ on the master. Then I think it sounds better and add more sounds, leaving these effects on the master.

I like the results, but I've heard my tracks sound too compressed. However, if I remove the effects, the track is totally different. It's because I've mixed everything to those effects.

So anyway, I was wondering: for these older tracks, is it too late to fix? If I sent them raw and shitty to an engineer, could he do a better job or is it too fucked by now?

For mixing:
Slate Digital Everything (especially tape and trigger), Renaissance compressors/eqs, Abbey Roads Verbs, Convolution reverbs, Autotune, C4 multiband compressor
For mastering: L316 for transparent limiting and L3 for track slamming mixing. Linear Phase EQs. (I'm not a mastering engineer, but I have to make tracks loud for clients sometimes)

I like to track things with healthy compression on the way in so I don't have to push plugins hard!

U wot m8?

Like this, always see em in 2nd hand shops for dirt cheap.