I went to the gym for the first time ever today and realized I had no idea what to do at a gym...

I went to the gym for the first time ever today and realized I had no idea what to do at a gym, so I ran on a treadmill for an hour

What is a good 'plan' for an absolute beginner?

Other urls found in this thread:

dumbbell-exercises.com/index.html
twitter.com/NSFWRedditGif

Lift

How much for how long?

Also, what is your goal? Running is best to lose weight, by far. If you want gains you lift. Poke a dude wearing a shirt with the gym's logo and have him make you a plan

Taking that bullshit somewhere else is step 1. Step 2, kys

/fit/

Try to find someone who knows about that shit, otherwise you are just gonna break yourself.

Well, where are we starting from? And where do you want to go?

>Running is best to lose weight
>Not swimming

aren't gyms supposed to have a guy that gives you instructions or something like that?

Hire a trainer (a good one) for a month or two to teach you what to do and not look like a gay and faggot

ask staff if they ahve any trainers staffed.
theyll help you out.

theyre gonna be dickheads and piss you off but thats what theyre supposed to do. it teaches you to not be a bitch and get your work out done.

if they have no trainers then cancel your membership and find a gym that does.

get schwarzenegger's encyclopedia of bodybuilding and study it like a bible

I dont really have a goal, i just want to stay healthy

if you pay them

back and bi's
chest and tri's
legs every day

low and slow, concentrate on perfect form

Most people can't achieve the same level of cardio intensity with swimming, whereas with jogging it's feasible for just about everyone

what you wanna do is pick up and push heavy metal objects

like a bible, i said

Do this, otherwise you'll end up injuring yourself

underrated post

starting strength

read the /fit/ stickie 1xf

Well, height/weight/build?

Youtube has everything you need

do this, if you're a bitch