I make bread for a living. I hate my coworkers and the place I work. Can't see me lasting there much longer...

I make bread for a living. I hate my coworkers and the place I work. Can't see me lasting there much longer, and there are no more rungs up the ladder as I'm pretty much on the very highest end of the pay scale.

I'd like to learn programming, so can anyone recommend some steps as to what you'd recommend to really learn a solid foundation and get headed in the right direction for a decent job that pays well?

For example 'Learn C#, C++, Java, Database management, etc. in that order' would be helpful to me.

Give up on your aspirations. You'll be a wage cuck baker forever. You'll die of a heart attack at the stand mixer.

If you wanna get results, first get into Linux. Then learn Perl. Then Python.

If you are more about graphical stuff, learn C#. The language is a piece of shit, but the .NET-framework is quite nice to use. If the Win32-API would have been like that the fucking MFC could have suck it.

Java is an allrounder, but heavily complex in some regards; C++ was off to a good start, but with the recent standards things got more and more blurry. C has no good framework, but is the best language out there because it gives you the most control while not forcing you to worry about stuff like ABIs and CPU features unless you want to.

There you go, OP.

>You'll be a wage cuck baker forever.

On track to make about $85k this year. Still hate it.

Thank you. Any specific builds of Linux you'd recommend I explore?

If you're asking about distributions ... gee, I dunno. I got into Linux when Ubuntu was still good (10.04, IOW April 2010), but ever since the distro's quality has been declining. Nowadays I have fallen for the gentoo meme, so I don't know what to pick for a beginner's distro, sorry.

Kubuntu or Linux Mint, maybe? But don't mail me on it.

>Making under $100k

Feed your face into a dough sheeter