How do you feel about the fact no artist will ever be as good as Moebius?

How do you feel about the fact no artist will ever be as good as Moebius?

Moebius thread.

Other urls found in this thread:

youtube.com/watch?v=cK-Lf_qP5m4
twitter.com/NSFWRedditGif

I'm loving the current crop of artists directly inspired by Moebius since they grew up reading Heavy Metal or the Epic collections.

Also can't wait for those Dark Horse collections, really hope some Blueberry or The Long Tomorrow come soon

His influence is already so ingrained due to his impact on manga and 80s sci-fi concept art/production design, but yeah, direct inspiration is a little rarer.

>due to his impact on manga
I wish I knew more about that era of manga or that more of it were translated. I pretty much only know Otomo's Akira and Domu and Miyazaki's Nausicaa

forgot pic

I'm not an expert, but you have stuff like Dragon's Heaven that hews pretty close to his aesthetic.

It's in a lot of mechanical designers styles. Makoto Kobayashi and Kazuhisa Kondo both draw a lot from him in their designs. It seems like his influence in Japan is a lot like it is in the west where it's just so ingrained it's hard to notice. While he talks about being influenced by Todd McFarlane a lot, the guy who did Trigun used to crib a lot from Moebius early on.

Maybe there is some truth to this part of "Even a Monkey Can Draw Manga"

Wasn't this drawn with Geoff Darrow?

Yeah, this was part of a series they did together.

I wonder how Jodorowski's dune would had turned out. With Moebius being storyboard and art director of the project.

It might have been too ambitious for the effects technology of its time, but it would have been interesting. At least the Jodorowskiverse comics came of it.

Too good for this world. If I could have one canceled movie be made it would probably be Jodorowski's Dune.

>With Moebius being storyboard and art director of the project.