Here's a good question for /pol. Why do we in general hate unions? Why do republicans hate unions...

Here's a good question for /pol. Why do we in general hate unions? Why do republicans hate unions. I'm an engineer in a union, I'm 21 years old, I make about 42 an hour after taxes, get to work as much overtime as I want (I do about 72 hours a week) anything over 40 is time and a half, if I work 7 days straight it's double time and each hour on that day also counts as an hour of paid vacation. I start with a cumulative 52 days paid off per year, I get a Christmas bonus, free boots twice a year up to 200 dollars, I barely work by my defenition of labor, I get 17 an hour into medical, I get 8 an hour into an annuity. The only negatives are I pay about 15-20 dollars a week in union dues. I'm a white working class man living the upper middle class dream at 21 without a college degree. Why would any one be against this.

Bump. Even though self bumping is off.

I only hate most government unions.

Most government employees should be the easiest to fire.

But it's backwards.

The janitor at a state capital building makes triple what a privately contracted janitor makes.

It's nonsensical.

Trade-guild unions are another matter.

I actually appreciate the quality of human I've encountered when I have union-trained tradesman doing my housework.

I.e. AT&T employs people through the IBEW. Comcast gives you some nigger to fumble his way through wiring your house.

Workers organizing themselves is fine by me, as long as they are checked by certain legitimate free market principles.

Sounds like bullshit but I'm curious. How did you get the job without a degree?

The problem with unions is that I thought your post was satire while reading it.

>Sounds like bullshit but I'm curious. How did you get the job without a degree?

Building engineer maybe?

My father in law was a "field engineer" for GE. He assembled turbine generators, but he got on-the-job training.