I am thinking about buying a chromebook

I am thinking about buying a chromebook.
>It's cheap
>Long battery life
>Web APIs let me do most of webdev stuff
>Can install linux in a snap.

Is this a good idea Cred Forums?

No

Don't do it.

Yes

Depends on what you want to do with it. If you want to take it to university to take notes n stuff or browse the interweb from time to time it's ok. I'm pretty sure it can run some office programs. But it's not suitable for any higher tasks.

fuck google
bunch a nerdz

Ive heard it works pretty well with tools like code envy or c9. I'm a front end web dev, and this wouldn't be my primary laptop, just looking for something more portable I can do my job on.

Buy a used thinkpad

I have one and I deeply regret buying one. It's basically a laptop that runs a severely crippled version of Android that has no apps or programs. Pretty much just a web browser with a few appa made from directly from google's asshole.

It's so bad I would recommend you get a cheap 5.5" phablet like a a stylo 2 and a bluetooth keyboard. That would be 10X better than a chromebook imho.

if you get it cheap go for it, if not, check other laptops.
At this point I think you already made up your mind about it and just wondering here to get approval and pull the trigger. If that's the case, don't be an idiot and just buy it, use it and give 0 fucks about what others think.

I'm aware of that, however I've seen how linux works. You can basically switch between linux and chrome os in a press of a button, so that kind of makes up for that.

I tried using a chromebook w/ Crouton for a year, but the chromeOS became bloated with each update and renders it unusable. Wiped and enabled legacy to install Xubuntu, and it's been working great. If you can snag one for cheap, it's honestly not a bad deal.

Ive had one op and it was fine. For the price range i would say just go for it