You have an hour and 45 minutes to explain why you aren't using neovim

You have an hour and 45 minutes to explain why you aren't using neovim.

Other urls found in this thread:

github.com/Shougo/deoplete.nvim
twitter.com/NSFWRedditGif

It has a lot of dependencies and I don't feel like compiling them all.

Because I use emacs.

>Because I am GNU Trash.

Why should i care what text editor Keanu Reeves uses?

Evil mode exists.

Because I use vim+tmux over SSH, dick.

i am (or vim and tmux)

I use visual studio code

because we vim8 now, nigger

Because neovim is vim which is vi, and vi sucks donkey balls.

I use vanilla vim. I don't have much of a reason to switch. Maybe if I was a plugin developer or something a cleanly written vim would seem appealing.

best text editor ever created desu

emerge neovim wow so hard

it's just not as good as vim yet.

this. BTW fuck neovim - vim8 integrates async API now.

Neovim user here, these are the main reasons I'm using it and not stock vim:

1. It's significantly faster for large projects. Starts up almost an order of magnitude more quickly, even with more plugins. I used to have to wait 10 seconds or so for startup, now it's down to about 1 second.

2. etc. keybindings just work out of the box. On vim I need to hack around it by making the ESC-sequence itself, which is annoying and unreadable in my config file.

3. The plugins tend to be better and faster, mainly because neovim supports both asynchronous plugins and python plugins, which attracts a lot of plugin developers. Stuff like deoplete is orders of magnitude faster than YouCompleteMe, and lldb+neovim integration is pretty neat as well (although I personally have little use for it).

I can't even get deoplete to work.

Because I use Visual Studio Code

Did you follow the installation steps at github.com/Shougo/deoplete.nvim ?

It's fucking shit and will actually cost you a job if you mention it in an interview.