Switch to Ubuntu?

Should I go to Ubuntu and install cinnamon instead of using Mint? I switched from Windows to Mint about a month ago and fell in love with it, but now I'm noticing wireless or vpn connectivity issues after the recent kernel update.

And no, I'm not ready for gentoo. I will not install gentoo.

Other urls found in this thread:

lwn.net/Articles/676664/
twitter.com/NSFWRedditImage

Install Gentoo.

You're better off with anything other than Mint.

I feel like I'm not ready for that yet, trips. I'm still learning the terminal and trying to use that over the built in software manager for starters

I find Ubuntu w/ cinnamon packages kinda suck. However you will have more security updates on Ubuntu vs Mint. Mint is more concerned about not breaking user experience than patching the system. Personally I would suggest ubuntu-mate because it just works, fast, and that software boutique.

I suggest you start with Ubuntu MATE

Is it anything like mate on Mint?

Just grab and use Manjaro. You're better off with a user friendly Arch

Xubuntu best distro.

>user friendly

arch is easy as balls with using the wiki; i switched from arch to gentoo after about 2 weeks, though

Are you trying to imply Manjaro isn't user friendly? It actually is. I'm not even Arch guy and Manjaro is a cakewalk to learn and use.

Is it? Because I had a horrible experience dealing with Arch fags and I've always thought Manjaro is more or less the same

if you're thinking about ubuntu, go with trisquel. it's a botnet-free fork.

The Manjaro forum and Arch and Manjaro wikis are always there to guide you and hold your hand as you get to learn and know Arch/Manjaro and yaourt better. It's not that hard, really. Simple stuff.

I don't know why I'm afraid to building from scratch but I'll look into it

I might try it again since I don't have to install proprietary software on this new laptop

Give antergos a try then

Ubuntu with GNOME 3 works great for me.