Guys, i started learning Win Server 2012 few days ago (i know, i know, but there's a reason for it...

Guys, i started learning Win Server 2012 few days ago (i know, i know, but there's a reason for it, i'll get a job if i pass MCSA). This is first time for me to face server world and i'm kinda puzzled.

1. I noticed File sharing aka file server is installed by default. If i do not create Domain Controller and Active directory how do i make users see this shared folder?

2. Are there some good practices when organizing server environment for companies, i think there shouldn't be one machine acting as all servers needed in a company, but is that always the case?

3. Mail server. Does MS really force people to buy Exchange server also next to Win server and do companies really use that over gmail and other shitty public email clients?

Other urls found in this thread:

bigcorp.intra
msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb727085.aspx
msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms935682(v=cs.70).aspx
twitter.com/SFWRedditGifs

Also, i'm interested if Linux also has something like active directory

Yes

Thanks a lot friend, Cred Forums is always helpful

At least you bumped the thread

>1
You dont understand what authentication is do you?

2>
yes that is always the case

3>
yes they make you pay seperatly and the licenses are expensive. and no real company uses gmail. if you're asking question 1 you shouldnt even consider running an exchange server as you'll wonder why it stoped working one day and the hard disk is full because you didnt back it up.

Regarding 1.

As i understand, people can choose between Workgroup/Homegroup and actual server for file sharing. Now i am wondering if it's possible to share folder without implementing authentication through AD, and if that makes any sense whatsoever