Linux

Linux mint or ? what should i use im just starting out so...

Did you read the sticky, OP?

Solus or Ubuntu MATE.

Mint is a mess behind a pretty UI.

thanks for the help

I installed iElementary and didn't have a clue what I was doing. I just googled step by step directions. Hardest part was creating space for a new partition. It's good looking and easy to use, which were my only two requirements. I couldn't ask for anything more really.

Linux Lite

What a stupid fucking question

Mint is fine. And the image is horrifying. Here's a better one.

Use mint.
Cinnamon mint.

I've really been digging Kubuntu. It's almost on that "just werks" status.

Refresh catalog.
Hats everywhere.
Happy birthday, Cred Forums.

gentoo is usually a good place to start.

Yes OP.
Use mint with the cinnamon de. It's literally the most comfy experience you will ever have. In fact, I'd say that mint is my favorite os right after windows 7.
Everything just werks out of the box, it looks consistent and nice, and it has mainstream support and tons of documentation/forums since it's the most popular distro.

>use the most insecure distribution
>fuck security patches

>most insecure distribution
based on what? If you're talking about that 'hack' from a while ago that was a wordpress vulnerability, not mint.

>they don't use security advisories
>users can't look up whether or not they're affected by a CVE
>they mix binary packages with Debian an Ubuntu which results in an unstable, unpredictable update system
>the devs solution to this was simply to blacklist things like security patches
>they import packages from Ubuntu or Debian, they hi-jack package and binary names by re-using existing names. For example, they called their fork of gdm2 "mdm" which supposedly means "Mint Display Manager". However, the problem is that there already is a package "mdm" in Debian which are "Utilities for single-host parallel shell scripting". Thus, on Mint, the original "mdm" package cannot be installed.