/CCT/ Career and Cert Thread

What are you working towards? Need advice? Share your study resources!

Post it in here

If you've got a tech career:

>Job Title
>Years of Experience
>Degrees/Certs
>How did you find/get job
>Pay

Bump.

>Job Title
Help desk I
>Years of Experience
>Degrees/Certs
B.s. IT/none
Applying while working at another help desk job
>Pay
$19.71/hr

I'm actually on my last week. Got a desktop support job lined up, goodbye help desk. New job is salaried, $46k/year

What's The difference between help desk and desktop support? Genuinely don't know.

>Job Title
Network Tech Tier 2
>Years of Experience
4 months
>Degrees/Certs
CCNA, half way through CCNP
applied for it
>Pay
$31/hour, unlimited overtime at $46/hour + great benefits

how did you initially get that job? working on network+ and then CCNA next. but i have no work experience.

lied about work experience + answered all the interview questions correctly.
I think they saw I was self-motivated and I actually studied for the CCNA unlike all the dumpmonkey Pajeets out there

Is it worth going to university for computer networking or should I focus on self-learning certifications?

Which cert is the most employable out of:
>MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure
>CCNP: R&S
>CCNP: Data Center
Assuming you only have one of them?

Nope, 4 years of work experience and some relevant certs kill a degree in networking.

>Which cert is the most employable
Depends on the job. For networking, R&S gives you the most flexibility and the best knowledge baseline. You need a CCNA before going for the CCNP though.

>Job Title
Information Security Analyst
>Years of Experience
>Degrees/Certs
Just A+ and bachelor's in information systems
Applied in senior year of college and did well during the interview
>Pay
75k (my starting salary was 70k)

Information security is the one of the best fields to get into right now.

>4 years of work experience