Pleaee help out a noob pro/g/rammer Cred Forums

Pleaee help out a noob pro/g/rammer Cred Forums
I'm coding C++ in uni and our professor recommended us to code and debug with Dev C++, Code Blocks, or visual studio
What do you guys recommend? Also is visual studio code worth using?

As much as I hate Microsoft, visual studio is a great product.

What do you think about vs code?

Im learning C++ from youtube tutorials and Im using codeblocks because its what the poo-in-loo is using in his videos. I don't even know if it makes a big difference as to what you use. Learning to write the code is more important than what its compiled on.

If you can't manage your school works with your own preferred IDE you are not going to be a great programmer.

I graduated using only KDevelop (although I used to use notepad++ before switching to Linux)

This will be my first and last post ITT

If you want easy mode, use visual studio 2015 (or 2016?) community. Hard mode is using a compiler on Linux like gcc or g++. Medium mode is code blocks I guess. Visual studio code is for web programming shiet.

It's actually better in terms of speed then it's FOSS alternative Atom. To be honest though, if you have no idea how to write code, an ide is a bit like cheating due to code auto complete suggestions. If your uni tested you on being able to write code on paper, then your better off using a text editor so you can actually learn the syntax rather than having the ide do most of the work.

Get bash on windows and install vim. Compile manually with gcc. It's the only way you're going to learn anything. VS is good but you gotta earn it.

That's not entirely true Linux shill. Visual Studio 2015 capabilites is very wide ranged. Like many full stack architecture, it is quite cumbersome to set up for the ones they don't support out of the box.

>Knowledge of IDEs = good programmer
>Not using vim/emacs

Vi or equivalent. You wanna learn you do things the hard way. Clang is the goat compiler though.