My girlfriend's dad asked me to install Linux on his laptop

My girlfriend's dad asked me to install Linux on his laptop.

Cred Forums decides the distro.

No gentoo please, he's 64

arch

puppy

Chapeau

Elementary, if he's total noob
Mint, if he's little less noob
Ubuntu, if he's casual

Xubuntu or Mint something.

>My girlfriend's dad
is this a new meme?

Linux Mint or Ubuntu

My future father-in-law

In other words I really don't want to screw this up

>he's 64

Debian stable, auto-updates. He'll be set till death

Gentoo, and configure it to be friendly enough to be used by that grandpa who cucked you

Elementary, Mint or Ubuntu, I'd say. Depends on how competent he is and which system you're familiar with (since you'll be the tech support).

Depends on the laptop.

But eh, Cinnamon, Mint, OpenSUSE, or Ubuntu.

LFS

Cinnamon is a DE, not a distro. Though it IS easy to use, so some simple distro with Cinnamon (eg Mint) would probably be pretty good.

Never considered this, was actually considering Mint, but this sounds better. Never used Debian though, is it really as stable as everyone says? No problems whatsoever?

This, but don't do stock Ubuntu with unity.
Do something like Xubuntu or some shit.

It is super stable, however, drivers can be finicky at times. I know for a fact wireless drivers rarely if ever work out of the box for me at least.

Xubuntu

Unity is a mature DE. Nothing wrong with it.

Ubuntu (the newest LTS) will have him set for 4.5 years, if you don't want to upgrade it every 2 years, and don't trust their automatic upgrade. If he doesn't change very much, automatic LTS upgades probably won't break anything.