Why is it so based?

Why is it so based?

It's not. C is a shit language, learn lisp.

stfu

It's a decent launching point for someone familiar with the concepts of programming to actually go ahead and program.

it has minimal amount of 'fluff'
it gets straight to the point, although many other programming books are like that.

Extremely well documented, low level system calls very well exposed. Direct memory allocation and access, allows for some badass optimizations

Is it though?

I'm just learning C and I'm reading bits and pieces from a couple different books, and K&R seems a bit outdated. I'm only up to chapter 4, but I keep encountering things that suggest standard practice has changed a reasonable amount since it was published.

C and C++ code written correctly is incredibly fast and efficient.

Why is it so based?

p sure the thread's about the lang not the book

Because it is basically like C, but with some extra features to make it really good at concurrency.

It's good for learning lower level concepts and doing system programming. It is notoriously cantankerous at text handling. The language also has well known security issues.

That said sorCerers can do some batshit insane stuff with pointer magic and abusing the low level attributes of binaries and other executable code.

>really good at concurency
>doesn't even have nonblocking io

Just spawn a fucking goroutine, or do you need you hand held all the time?

she meant scheme. SICP 4 da win

strings are for webcucks

I'm the only one here, who prefer watch Youtube tuts ( no indians) instead of reading books?

>Garbage collected
Collect yourself.

Brainlet who only knows how to program in Python here.

I'm interested in learning C, but I'm curious: why is it that C++ often gets criticized for being a horrible abomination but which gets the work done, while C is lauded as much more elegant?