Is it just me or is networking the most boring, banal, tedious, dull and mind-numbing area of IT?

Is it just me or is networking the most boring, banal, tedious, dull and mind-numbing area of IT?

It's not just you. It's where the "mechanics" of IT go; the guys who don't know what they are doing, etc.

They pride themselves on knowing how routing works; when it's one of the easiest god damn things in IT.

I'm studying for my CCNA and CCNA security certs.

Hoping to become a network engineer for a major telco and make 100k

hahahahahahahhahahahahhaahhahahahhahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahhahahaha

I hope this is a troll post, 100k lol

i work in a network ops center for a major ISP and i can tell you, they don't make much money. very unrewarding work.

No, tech support is

Just dumb people who "can't find the internet" all day long.

>100k
2005 called they want their wage back

It's ok, he's following the CCNA/Cisco marketing material.

idk man being a sysadmin is comfy

Called my ISP because I was having packetloss. Had WINMTR and Wireshark logs to provide them to show it wasn't on my end.

Told them I was having packetloss and they sad "well here it shows you are getting XX megabytes, the speed you pay for", I said megabits, they said "megabytes", so I gave in on that and said thats not the problem, the problem is quality and stability. They said "I don't know what you mean by packetloss". ISP tech support folks.

They hire people off the street as long as they've got high school under their belt because 95% of their caller volume is grandma not knowing how to "click on google."

Worst part, there's nobody you can really talk with that'd be well informed.

easy money, goy.

pretty boring and helpdesk sucks but lots of easy money and jobs though

>Is it just me or is networking the most boring, banal, tedious, dull and mind-numbing area of IT?
Nah. That would be databases.