/jazz/

Let's have a thread for all general jazz discussion.

What have you been listening to lately?
Who have you seen live lately?
Post some albums you like and ask for recs.

Other urls found in this thread:

youtube.com/watch?v=Z5_uympwNJc
youtube.com/watch?v=srs_ObgT_WQ
twitter.com/SFWRedditVideos

How did everyone celebrate Coltrane's birthday?

I listened to The Olatunji Concert.

got addicted to heroin

where do I start playing with playing jazz guitar? I basically only played tabs and simple chords before.

as a jazz guitar player myself, I recommend you to listen a lot of jazz guitar (obviously lol) like Kenny burrel, Georges Benson, Sylvain Luc, etc
the second best way is to be part of a jazz group, you really learn a lot.

On another side, I'm mostly interested by Contemporary Jazz, if someone had good recs for it it'd be appreciated. (I like Rudresh Mahanthappa, Walter Smith III, Dave Holland, stuff like that ;) )

How do jazz fans feel about Herbie Hancock? I'm new to jazz and I've been listening to his discography from the beginning. I just finished Mwandishi the other day.

What are some favorites/least favorites when it comes to him? So far mine is Fat Albert Rotunda.

First figure out how notation works, then start with basic theory lean all your major and minor triads and then seventh chords and their inversions.

Then start working on an easy standard and studying scales and how they work with the chords.

And listen to a ton of jazz guitar in the meantime like the other guy said.

>if someone had good recs for it it'd be appreciated
David Binney- Bastion of Sanity
Tim Warfield- Eye of the Beholder
Ari Hoenig- Bert's Playground
Jonathan Kreisberg- Shadowless
Billy Hart- Sixty-Eight
Steve Lehman- Mise en Abime

It's pretty hard to top Maiden Voyage

I listened to it. Really liked the title track and Dolphin Dance. So far my favorite 3 albums from Herbie are Fat Albert Rotunda, Inventions and Dimensions, and Taking Off.

lmao