Does this make sense?

Does this make sense?

Is it the best way to dynamically allocate a 2d array and populate it?

This is C, if that isn't clear...

Yes.

sizeof(char) is 1 by definition

have you tried using logarithms?

Dear lord, no. Unless you have to, don't do this.

int main(int,char**)
{
int i,j,c,r;
char *arr;
c=8; r=8;
arr=malloc(c*r*sizeof(char)); /*c auto casts void* to anything. c++ does not*/
for( i=0;i

It's best to use literals as little as possible

Instead of using malloc, why don't you just say char arr[8][8]? While malloc isn't wrong, you are forgetting to free your memory afterwards. In this case since that's just your main method and the program will finish execution, you wouldn't have a problem. But if this was some other method which might be called repeatedly, you would have a memory leak.

Do people even still use c?

You make me want to break out my 20 year old textbook.

I don't know how. I'm very new to programming

I'm supposed to make a chess board like this. And it's supposed to be dynamically allocated.

Not sure what the best way to do it is...

it's supposed be dynamically allocated.

we're using a separate function to free the memory after the game is played through.

Maybe back when each bit was a handful of vacuum tubes you might have got 7 or even 6 bit chars to store your fucked up version of ascii.

who knows...

from what I hear, most of the shit they teach us is out of date.

You don't need your for loop that does the malloc at all. All you need to do is say this:

arr = (char **)malloc(r * c * sizeof(char));

Why is the array instantiated outside of the nested for?

I don't even know, man...

Why the fuck would you instantiate the array inside the nested for?

I meant assign the array a value. It don't matter

you should just
char arr[8][8];

That first allocation shouldn't be sizeof(char).

It should be sizeof(char*) because it is a pointer to char (array) not char itself.

>arr[i][0] = 'P';
>for(j=1;j