CompSci fag needs help

CompSci fag needs help.
Trying to convert decimal to binary without the function, but odds always show up as 11111111 and evens as 00000000

selfbumping

bumping bc I'm about to solve this for you but I need a few more seconds to look at it

you need to divide num by 2 after each iteration though the loop
you're just taking the modulus of the same number 8 times, which gives you either 8 zeroes or 8 ones

this

This. Just google it if you aren't intelligent enough to figure it out on your own.

Thanks user

this. Modular divide by the way. Or divide and floor. also #sqt

set the variable inside the loop so that it will become recursive

just switch majors now holy shit

as a professional software engineer, i cringe every time i see people use strings like this
strings are immutable, so each time you add two strings like that, you're generating more garbage that needs to be collected
use a StringBuffer or something

As a programming hobbyist, when is recursion considered a good thing? Don't excessive function calls slow things down? It's also weird to me that they seem to teach it so early. It's so much easier to use loops.

Iterate you dumb fuck.....

In the getBinary method, put j++; somewhere. How is the value suppoed to change if you dont iterate it?

hardly ever
recursion doesn't work well for solving large problems because of limited stack space
recursion is mostly used for first year compsci homework

for (int i = 0; i < sizeof(int) * 8; i++)
output.Append((num >> i) & 0x01);

it is iterated

So why the hell don't they save it for upper level courses where you have the competence to know when it's useful? I've seen recursive examples for fibonacci-like stuff and can barely wrap my head around it, while looping is totally straightforward. It seems like two totally different ways of thinking. So the useful one should be taught first, right?

This probably wouldve been better suited for work safe requests

i honestly don't know