How does Cred Forums feel about the return of vinyl?

How does Cred Forums feel about the return of vinyl?

I work in the vinyl pressing industry. AMA

It's just a novelty now, sound quality is a LOT better digitally. You'd also have to most likely buy a record player, where you could only listen to it when you had the player with you plugged in.

How do you feel about the return of vinyl?

Op here.. I'd like to thank you personally for helping bring back the best form of music.

Love the novelty, the analog sound is fun and can smooth some settings for some people. Lots of people claim better sound quality, but you have to have insanely expensive equipment to beat a simple CD in a 200 player. I just like the physical aspect of working with it.

Op here.. You're right, it is more expensive. The physical aspect of it is fantastic. But as far as the cost, I've found that by doing just a little bit of searching you can find a vintage speaker/amplifier/equalizer setup for relatively cheap, if only because people don't know what they have, and by doing simple and cheap upgrades you can improve said vintage equipment ten fold.

Ambivalent.

It won't last.

What pressing plant do you work at?

groovy

If I weren't for all those hipster fags

I mean... It's keeping us in business so thats great. I DJ as hobbie and sifting through records at stores is a joy

I work in product development. We have a prototype press in operation. There are only a handful of companies developing new presses. I work for one of them.

I collect. Its meager but its shit I like. some new, some old as fuck. But its these hipster fuckers making it "trendy" that drives the fucking price up. And not even represses of older albums are worth 30-60 usd.

Certainly a different sound. But the price and effort isn't worth it.

Don't give a shit about it but I'm selling it and raking in cash

>mfw I just put the exact same master as the digital on it, with subs cut, and people claim the quality is higher