I'm a current PhD student in Biblical Studies. Ask any questions you have about the Bible, ancient Israel...

I'm a current PhD student in Biblical Studies. Ask any questions you have about the Bible, ancient Israel, or early Christianity. I'll try to give the academic answer for anything you ask. For what it is worth, I'm a biblical studies student, not a theology student. So questions about God's being are not my specialty.

Attached: Savior.jpg (531x710, 290K)

Other urls found in this thread:

amazon.com/Fantasyland-America-Haywire-500-Year-History/dp/1400067219
youtube.com/watch?v=6MzcC-uc_fM
twitter.com/SFWRedditVideos

> 2020
> being religious

What does the Bible says about heaven? I mean like the afterlife

I have a lot of discussions about predestination that make my blood boil sometimes. It doesn't make me question my faith by any means but when people say He chooses us in that context I struggle because then He is choosing who goes to hell ahead of time too. I understand that God is all knowing so he obviously knows who will accept or reject Him. But Him sending people to Hell without free will contradicts John 3:16 and many other verses. I don't think we are preprogrammed robots because that kind of love is hollow. We should have to choose to accept Christ. Anyway I'm rambling. Where do you fall on the issue?

Generally, the Bible's concept of heaven is pretty vague. The most significant difference would be that heaven is differentiated from hell because heaven is the complete presence of God, while hell is the complete absence of God (not the fire and brimstone that was made popular by Dante's Inferno).